Home » SQL & PL/SQL » SQL & PL/SQL » What am I doing wrong here... (10G )
What am I doing wrong here... [message #563523] Tue, 14 August 2012 11:09 Go to next message
gblackiv
I am a relative novice at PL SQL... That said... What I would like to do is reset my sequence to 10,000 (or 10,001 is fine as well).

I'm having issues executing the proc. Also, I couldn't figure out how to insert directly from a grouped insert statement into a variable... so I used a cursor with only one record, to do this... there's probably a far easier way to do this, but I didn't know it.

I' getting this as my error message:

Quote:
ORA-06550: line 1, column 42:
PLS-00103: Encountered the symbol "end-of-file" when expecting one of the following:

; <an identifier> <a double-quoted delimited-identifier>
The symbol ";" was substituted for "end-of-file" to continue.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

CREATE OR REPLACE 
PROCEDURE S00050_RESET_POINVASS_SEQUENCE
    AS
        v_SEQUENCE_NAME  VARCHAR2 (50) := 'POINVASS_ID_SEQ';
        v_STATEMENT VARCHAR2(2000);
        v_MAX_POINVASS_ID NUMBER;

CURSOR cv_RESET_SEQUENCE_cursor IS
        SELECT MAX(POINVASS_ID) MAX_POINVASS_ID
        FROM P0100_PO_INV_ASSETS;

BEGIN
        OPEN cv_RESET_SEQUENCE_cursor;    

LOOP
                FETCH cv_RESET_SEQUENCE_cursor 
                INTO v_MAX_POINVASS_ID;

EXIT WHEN cv_RESET_SEQUENCE_cursor%NOTFOUND;

END LOOP;            

v_STATEMENT := 'ALTER SEQUENCE ' || v_SEQUENCE_NAME ||' INCREMENT BY -' || TO_CHAR(v_MAX_POINVASS_ID, '99,999');  

EXECUTE IMMEDIATE v_STATEMENT;            

v_STATEMENT := 'SELECT '|| v_SEQUENCE_NAME ||'.NEXTVAL FROM dual';

EXECUTE IMMEDIATE v_STATEMENT; --This should bring the sequence to zero

v_STATEMENT := 'ALTER SEQUENCE ' || v_SEQUENCE_NAME ||' INCREMENT BY 10000';  

EXECUTE IMMEDIATE v_STATEMENT; 

v_STATEMENT := 'SELECT '|| v_SEQUENCE_NAME ||'.NEXTVAL FROM dual';

EXECUTE IMMEDIATE v_STATEMENT; --This should bring the sequence to 10000