Home » SQL & PL/SQL » SQL & PL/SQL » Connect SQL and Oracle, possible?
Connect SQL and Oracle, possible? [message #559860] Fri, 06 July 2012 21:07 Go to next message
Fisch123
Hello!

I am a student and for a project we should connect two different databases. One is based on SQL and the other one is based on Oracle.

So please experienced users and programmers, I have completely no idea about this stuff and could you please answer me some questions.
  • Is it possible to connect both databases / to get connection between them?
  • On what do I have to take attention when I connect them or which problems should I expect?
  • Is it easy to get communication between those platforms or is a huge amount of programming necessary?
Many Thanks!

Peter

[EDITED by LF: fixed awkward [list] tags]

[Updated on: Sat, 07 July 2012 04:24] by Moderator

Report message to a moderator

Re: Connect SQL and Oracle, possible? [message #559861 is a reply to message #559860] Fri, 06 July 2012 22:14 Go to previous messageGo to next message
BlackSwan
>One is based on SQL and the other one is based on Oracle.
SQL is a language that can inter-operate against some, many, most RDBMS.
so which vendor makes & support the non-Oracle DB?

Please read and follow the forum guidelines, to enable us to help you:

http://www.orafaq.com/forum/t/88153/0/

Re: Connect SQL and Oracle, possible? [message #559899 is a reply to message #559861] Sat, 07 July 2012 04:26 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Littlefoot
Account Moderator
Have a look at this Maarten's message; follow his advices up to point 8 (where Forms come onto the stage; you probably don't need that).
Re: Connect SQL and Oracle, possible? [message #560122 is a reply to message #559899] Tue, 10 July 2012 12:52 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Fisch123
Heya!

Many thanks for your posts and help. I try to follow your forum rules.

I have now to ask the guys which made the database about software/vendor version...etc.