Home » Developer & Programmer » Reports & Discoverer » Lexical Parameter.
Lexical Parameter. [message #539401] Sun, 15 January 2012 00:48 Go to next message
Tomcrzy

Hi everyone,

I studied a document about lexical parameter in that it says
"Lexical parameters are used to substitute multiple values at run time and are identified by a preceding '&'. Lexical s can consist of as little a one line where clause to an entire select statement"

And given an example as
Select * from emp, deptno 
      	&where. 

I am really confused with this is it right or wrong?

and i know about substitution variables using &

is this are same (lexical and substitution) or different.

Expect your valuable reply's
Re: Lexical Parameter. [message #539403 is a reply to message #539401] Sun, 15 January 2012 01:18 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Barbara Boehmer
It usually helps if you provide a link to the article you are referring to, so that we can read the whole article and see in what context the excerpt is used. The terminology can get confusing. I find it more important to know what can be done than what it is called. Usually, when you hear people talking about lexical parameters, they are referring to parameters passed in forms and reports. However, I suppose a SQL*Plus substitution variable also constitutes a lexical parameter. As to whether or not they can be used in the manner mentioned, all you have to do is test and see, as shown below.

-- single column value:
SCOTT@orcl_11gR2> Select deptno, ename, job from emp where job = upper ('&job');
Enter value for job: clerk
old   1: Select deptno, ename, job from emp where job = upper ('&job')
new   1: Select deptno, ename, job from emp where job = upper ('clerk')

DEPTNO ENAME      JOB
---------- ---------- ---------
        20 SMITH      CLERK
        20 ADAMS      CLERK
        30 JAMES      CLERK
        10 MILLER     CLERK

4 rows selected.

-- where clause:
SCOTT@orcl_11gR2> Select deptno, ename, job from emp &where;