Home » SQL & PL/SQL » SQL & PL/SQL » ORA-00922 missing or invalid option (Oracle 11G)
ORA-00922 missing or invalid option [message #479596] Mon, 18 October 2010 08:55 Go to next message
kjrooney91
I am creating a stored procedure to create a table during run time using 3 passed in parameters to build the table name. Oracle is giving me the ORA-00922 missing or invalid operation error message on the EXECUTE IMMEDIATE statement of my stored procedure. I am new to writing stored procedures in Oracle and would appreciate any help that can be provided. I am pasting a copy of the stored procedures. I have also changed the names of the field names to be generic so I can post the code in this forum.

CREATE OR REPLACE PROCEDURE createTable(PARAMETER1 in string, PARAMETER2 in string, PARAMETER3 in string) IS

TABLE_NAME NVARCHAR2(50);
QUERY_STRING LONG;
BEGIN
TABLE_NAME := PARAMETER1 || '_' || PARAMETER2 || '_' ||PARAMETER3;
QUERY_STRING := 'CREATE TABLE USER.' ||TABLE_NAME||
'(FIELD1 NUMBER(10) NOT NULL,
FIELD2 NUMBER(10),
FIELD3 NVARCHAR2(50) NOT NULL,
FIELD4 NUMBER(10,0) DEFAULT (0) NOT NULL,
FIELD5 NUMBER(10,0) NOT NULL,
FIELD6 NCLOB NOT NULL,
FIELD7 DATE NOT NULL,
FIELD8 NUMBER(1) DEFAULT (0) NOT NULL),
CONSTRAINT PK_'||PARAMETER1||'_'||PARAMETER2||' PRIMARY KEY (FIELD2),
CONSTRAINT CHK_'||PARAMETER1||'_'||PARAMETER2||'_PROCESSED CHECK (PROCESSED IN (0,1))';
EXECUTE IMMEDIATE QUERY_STRING;

END;
Re: ORA-00922 missing or invalid option [message #479598 is a reply to message #479596] Mon, 18 October 2010 08:58 Go to previous messageGo to next message
cookiemonster
Standard method of debugging dynamic sql:
Assign the dynamic sql to a variable (which you have done).
Output the variable using dbms_output or some other method.
Paste the output into sqlplus and see if it looks valid.

That said, creating tables in oracle is almost always a bad idea. I'd rethink your approach if I was you.

EDIT: typo

[Updated on: Mon, 18 October 2010 09:02]

Report message to a moderator