Home » Infrastructure » Unix » AIX vs LiNUX (AIX 5.3)
AIX vs LiNUX [message #470466] Tue, 10 August 2010 01:25 Go to next message
push
Hello all,

I am new to this so not sure if this is the right area to post this question. I need some advise on which OS is better for datawarehouse (Enterprise business intelligence)

OS name: AIX vs Linux

Please advise, thanks in advance, I personally think that AIX would be a better bet.....Pls advise..
Re: AIX vs LiNUX [message #470477 is a reply to message #470466] Tue, 10 August 2010 01:50 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Michel Cadot
Account Moderator
"better" given which criteria?

Regards
Michel
Re: AIX vs LiNUX [message #470583 is a reply to message #470466] Tue, 10 August 2010 04:34 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Mahesh Rajendran
Account Moderator
>> I personally think that AIX would be a better bet.....Pls advise
Could you justify that?
Re: AIX vs LiNUX [message #470742 is a reply to message #470583] Tue, 10 August 2010 10:52 Go to previous messageGo to next message
push
better: perfomance issue - long sql queries takes more time in linux as compare to the AIX could be due to multi threading...however linux is cheaper than AIX...

But still I need to think more and that is why I posted the above...so please advise me in an dataware house (enterprise business intelligence) which one would be better We do lots of cloning, daily refreshes...thanks..
Re: AIX vs LiNUX [message #470755 is a reply to message #470742] Tue, 10 August 2010 11:19 Go to previous messageGo to next message
ThomasG
push wrote on Tue, 10 August 2010 17:52
better: perfomance issue - long sql queries takes more time in linux as compare to the AIX could be due to multi threading

Wherever did you pick up that idea? Linux can use multiple threads just like AIX can.

There are of course a lot of things that you can/must optimize on the OS level to run Oracle, but that is true for every OS.