Home » SQL & PL/SQL » SQL & PL/SQL » Using UTL_HTTP, are you able to send attachments in a web service? (Oracle DB 10G, Linux)
Using UTL_HTTP, are you able to send attachments in a web service? [message #442642] Tue, 09 February 2010 12:32 Go to next message
jbryniar1
Hello.

I will be sending some XML data with a SOAP request using UTL_HTTP.begin_request. I will consuming a web service. The requirement is to also send attachments. Am I able to do so? I am only seeing attachments with UTL_SMPT which would send an e-mail, which I do not want to do. I want to send the XML data and attachments with UTL_HTTP all together at once (and there are two attachments by the way).

I want to use UTL_HTTP, as I have some experience with this. I have very little experience with Web Services, XML, and Java though.

Thank you for any help.

John
Re: Using UTL_HTTP, are you able to send attachments in a web service? [message #442649 is a reply to message #442642] Tue, 09 February 2010 13:46 Go to previous messageGo to next message
jbryniar1
I have already completed a successful web service program call, and wanted to use almost the same code. However, I see nothing about being able to send attachments using UTL_HTTP, just UTL_SMPT. We save an e-delivery notification and a ship confirmation in Oracle Order Management attachments, and the goal is to retrieve those attachments and send them on to the web service I would consume.

Thank you again everyone.
John
Re: Using UTL_HTTP, are you able to send attachments in a web service? [message #442652 is a reply to message #442649] Tue, 09 February 2010 14:10 Go to previous messageGo to next message
ThomasG
There are basically two options

1) embedding
2) referencing

XML, SOAP and Binary Data

Embedding might be possible with UTL_HTTP if you encode the data into base64 first and then add it to the SOAP request.

For referencing you would probably have to create the M/HTML MIME yourself, I don't know of any oracle package that does it.