Home » SQL & PL/SQL » SQL & PL/SQL » substring picturename from path [merged] (window server2003,oracle developer suite10g ,oracle DB 10g)
substring picturename from path [merged] [message #437660] Tue, 05 January 2010 07:34 Go to next message
tonna

Hello, experts i'm just beginning for coding pl/sql, please help me,i want to know how to use function substring in oracle pl/sql to substring picture name(picture.jpg) from path picture.

example : C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Desktop\picture.jpg

i want to know how to use function to substring that's output give only "picture.jpg". Help me please ,that's very kind of you. Thank for experts.... I'm waiting for answer.
Re: substring picturename from path [message #437664 is a reply to message #437660] Tue, 05 January 2010 07:39 Go to previous messageGo to next message
delna.sexy
To extract file name from the path, you do not require to go for PL/SQL. One SELECT query can solve your problem.
INSTR and SUBSTR functions required in your case.
See examples.

regards,
Delna
Re: substring picturename from path [message #437668 is a reply to message #437660] Tue, 05 January 2010 07:51 Go to previous messageGo to next message
joy_division
Here's some hints.

If you use a negative number in the SUBSTR function, you can count from the end.
If you use the INSTR function you can find the position of the '/' character.
Re: substring picturename from path [merged] [message #437671 is a reply to message #437660] Tue, 05 January 2010 07:59 Go to previous messageGo to next message
prachij593
You should not multipost for the same question. You have already got the answer.
Re: substring picturename from path [merged] [message #437931 is a reply to message #437660] Wed, 06 January 2010 09:39 Go to previous messageGo to next message
tonna

Hello, expert Could you please give me example code how to substring that count from the end of string path to first" / "