Home » SQL & PL/SQL » SQL & PL/SQL » Inequality slowing down UPDATE (Oracle 10g)
Inequality slowing down UPDATE [message #432973] Fri, 27 November 2009 16:12 Go to next message
rolifantje
Hi,

just wondering if anybody has any ideas on this.

I have a straightforward UPDATE statement, which is running VERY slowly. The Execution plan says that it is using the relevant index, which I thought wouldn't work when there is an inequality involved, but hey, I'm not an expert.

The inner table is very big (6 million rows). When I take out the inequality, the update takes < 1 second. When I include it, it takes 15 mins.

UPDATE US_PERFORMANCE_INFO p
SET form_source = 1
WHERE p.race_date = '7 NOV 2009'
AND p.horse_name = 'ZENYATTA'
AND EXISTS 
(
SELECT 1
FROM US_PERFORMANCE p2
WHERE p2.horse_code = p.horse_code
AND p2.race_date < p.race_date
)

Thx,

Guy
Re: Inequality slowing down UPDATE [message #432974 is a reply to message #432973] Fri, 27 November 2009 16:20 Go to previous messageGo to next message
BlackSwan
You need to help us by following the Posting Guidelines as stated below.
http://www.orafaq.com/forum/t/88153/0/
Go to the URL above click the link "Posting Guidelines"
Go to the section labeled "Practice" & do as directed.

Please post EXPLAIN PLAN for query.

UPDATE us_performance_info p
SET    form_source = 1
WHERE  p.race_date = '7 NOV 2009'
       AND EXISTS (SELECT 1
                   FROM   us_performance p2
                   WHERE  p2.horse_code = p.horse_code
                          AND p2.race_date < p.race_date) 

Are all columns in the WHERE clause indexed?

In Oracle characters between single quote marks are STRINGS
'this is a string, 2009-10-02, not a Date'
When you need to convert STRING to DATE use TO_DATE() function.
Re: Inequality slowing down UPDATE [message #432975 is a reply to message #432974] Fri, 27 November 2009 16:27 Go to previous messageGo to next message
rolifantje
Hi, thx for the quick reply.

Yes, they are all indexed.