Home » SQL & PL/SQL » SQL & PL/SQL » Copy/Ammend/Insert Row based on ID
Copy/Ammend/Insert Row based on ID [message #432674] Wed, 25 November 2009 11:44 Go to next message
chris-uk-lad
Hi all

Im new to both the forum and PL SQL so forgive me.

Im looking to making a script that will ammend some already existing values within a table, based upon specified IDs

Something like:

For REFID('ad101', 'ad102', 'ad103')
Do
*copy row*
*paste row with ammendment to the copied value*
Loop
End For

Ive been looking at cursors which i believe are like recordsets, dont believe i can work with this as im specifying the search criteria instead of using existing data in a table.

Id really appreciate some links which could help me find the answer myself or examples. Ive tried looking around but, being new to PLSQL, dont fully know what im looking for.
Re: Copy/Ammend/Insert Row based on ID [message #432675 is a reply to message #432674] Wed, 25 November 2009 11:48 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Michel Cadot
Account Moderator
Why not just a single UPDATE?

Regards
Michel
Re: Copy/Ammend/Insert Row based on ID [message #432676 is a reply to message #432674] Wed, 25 November 2009 11:51 Go to previous messageGo to next message
cookiemonster
Suspect you just want to use an update statement.
Hard to tell with the lack of information and I wouldn't be able to point you at anything more usefull than the documentation.
If you give more detail on what you're trying to do we can probably give you a better answer.
Re: Copy/Ammend/Insert Row based on ID [message #432677 is a reply to message #432674] Wed, 25 November 2009 11:52 Go to previous messageGo to next message
BlackSwan
>Im new to both the forum and PL SQL so forgive me.
It appears you found & tried to comply with Posting Guidelines.
THANKS!
Perhaps rather than starting with PL/SQL, you should become proficient with SQL.

Oracle manuals can be found at
http://tahiti.oracle.com

Many fine coding example can be found at