Home » SQL & PL/SQL » SQL & PL/SQL » Question on methodology (Oracle Database 10g Enterprise Edition Release 10.2.0.3.0 - 64bit)
Question on methodology [message #430239] Mon, 09 November 2009 13:10 Go to next message
TNK101
I am a PLSQL newbie in need of some design advice and suggestions. My background is OO development with C++, C# and .NET. I'm writing an application in C#/.NET that talks to an Oracle database.

I am using ref cursors to return data to my C# code. This works and I can get the data I want.

However, I'm trying to reduce some duplication of SQL.

I have a situation where I have two procedures that return result sets with identical schemas. The only difference is their where clause.

I've encapsulated the schema in a view and created two procedures that

select *
from viewName
where viewName.x = someVar;

The difference between the procedures is the where clause. This works.

However, my application also needs to be able to run sub queries against the result sets returned by the two queries.

That is, I have a number of sub queries that can be run against the result sets of either of the two procedures.

Conceptually, I have a view in the first layer, 2 procedures that query the view in the second layer and a number of procedures that query the result set of either of the two procedures in the 2nd layer in the third layer.

That is, if this were a 3 layer graph with edges between nodes indicating a query relationship, the 1st and 2nd layer would be fully connected and the 2nd and 3rd layer would be fully connected. The 1st and 3rd layer would not be connected at all.

Ideally, I would have something like this:

procedure layer2Foo (retVal out ref cursor) is
begin
  open retVal
  for
  select *
  from view
  where someWhereClause;
end layer2Foo;

procedure layer2Bar (retVal out ref cursor) is
begin
  open retVal
  for
  select *
  from view
  where someOtherWhereClause;
end layer2Bar;