Home » SQL & PL/SQL » SQL & PL/SQL » P-Code in Oracle (10 G)
P-Code in Oracle [message #423799] Mon, 28 September 2009 06:34 Go to next message
madhuottapalam
Hi All,

This is my first post in the forum and i am sure i will have many more going forward. I am a SQL Server Dev/DBA with 12+ years of exp and also i am a moderator in MSDN forums and MVP in SQL Server.

Currently i am working in a Oracle project and i was trying to map the architecure of Oracle to SQL Server equivalent. I have question regarding P-Code in PL/SQL.
In the following link

books.google.co.in/books?id=sIJDjNUUHAoC&pg=RA2-PA400&lpg=RA2-PA400&dq=p+code+pl+sql&source=bl&ots=xQHCtebNqe& ;sig=2hnlJ57F-H_tt38gcxrO59junYc&hl=en&ei=mJzASpXgAZrW7AOF_qGJAQ&sa=X&oi=book_result&ct=result&resnum=1#v=one page&q=p%20code%20pl%20sql&f=false

It is mentioned that, When the subprogram is called the P-Code is read from the Disk if necessary. My question is, i understand what is pcode, but does this store in Disk or it stores in SGA. If i think about p-code equivalent in SQL Server, it is execution plan stored in Procedure cache. But in sql server, you dont stores execution plan in Disk it is only in cache and once the cache is aged out , it has to be recompiled and put again in cache.

Could you please confirm, whether P-code is stored in disk or not? if yes, which system object expose this?

thanks

Madhu K Nair
Re: P-Code in Oracle [message #423802 is a reply to message #423799] Mon, 28 September 2009 06:54 Go to previous messageGo to next message
pablolee
madhuottapalam wrote on Mon, 28 September 2009 12:34

If i think about p-code equivalent in SQL Server, it is execution plan stored in Procedure cache.

Wrong, it is not an execution plan. It is the compiled version of the procedure. Yes it is stored on disk and read into memory when required. Where can you see it? i don't know, neither do I care 'cos I could understand it anyway.