Home » SQL & PL/SQL » SQL & PL/SQL » Search Characters automatically in a whole Database (Oracle 9.2.0.1.0 Enterprise Edition, Windows NT)
Search Characters automatically in a whole Database [message #394144] Wed, 25 March 2009 17:07 Go to next message
sberger86
Hi,

First of all, I am very new in Oracle and SQL and PL/SQL.

I have to search through a whole database some special characters like ä, ö, ü, ñ, Ñ and then replace them for a special code, for example !ae! or something else.
My question is: is there any possibility to do this automatically with PL/SQL?

Because I have searched and maybe the answer is right in front of me but I havent see it.

What I have done is just replacing these Values in a known table with known columns. For example:

declare
cursor c1 is select * from tab1 for update;
begin
for rec in c1
loop
if rec.vorname like '%ä%' then
update tab1 set vorname = (select replace(vorname,'ä','!ae!') from tab1 where vorname = rec.vorname) where current of c1;
end if;
if rec.name like '%ä%' then
update tab1 set name = (select replace(name,'ä','!ae!') from tab1 where name = rec.name) where current of c1;
end if;
end loop;
commit;
end;

I could not post my SQLPLUS* session because the PC is not at home and I am not allowed to take any Information outside the office.

So this program works just for any character ä in the two columns: name and vorname from the table tab1.

I found also that in the public tables are the names of all columns and tables (table: all_tab_columns) in my database, so I think maybe if I can take those values with a cursor and the use them with another ref_cursor or so, I could maybe do all automatic. but can I use a cursor inside another one. Can I update the value in a ref_cursor. could you please help me?

I am really confused.

I would really apreciate it, if you can help me.

Sincerely,

sberger86