Home » Developer & Programmer » Forms » Unable to initialize Java VM (Forms 6i, java 1.4.2_04, Linux)
Unable to initialize Java VM [message #386691] Mon, 16 February 2009 12:20 Go to next message
asito
Hi,
I'm new in developing Web calls from within Forms 6i (I'm using it to develop custom forms for Oracle e-Business Suite 11.5.10.2).

I have a WHEN-BUTTON-PRESED trigger which code is the following:

DECLARE
  jo ora_java.jobject;
  ex ora_java.jobject;
BEGIN
  --
  IF :main_block.conversion_type = 1 THEN
    :main_block.to_farenheit := 
       TempConvertStub.CelsiusToFahrenheit(jo,:main_block.celsius);
  ELSE
    :main_blockto_celsius := 
       TempConvertStub.FahrenheitToCelsius(jo,:main_block.farenheit);
  END IF;
  --
EXCEPTION
 WHEN ORA_JAVA.JAVA_ERROR then 
  fnd_message.set_string('ORA_JAVA.JAVA_ERROR: '
            ||ORA_JAVA.LAST_ERROR);
  fnd_message.error;
 WHEN ORA_JAVA.EXCEPTION_THROWN then 
  ex := ORA_JAVA.LAST_EXCEPTION;
  fnd_message.set_string('ORA_JAVA.EXCEPTION_THROWN: '
            ||Exception_.ToString(ex));
  fnd_message.error;
END;

No matter the call is (TempConvertStub.FahrenheitToCelsius or TempConvertStub.FahrenheitToCelsius) the form raise the exception ORA_JAVA.JAVA_ERROR. The message is like this:

Quote:
ORA_JAVA.JAVA_ERROR: Unable to initialize Java VM

I can add to this post a few data that may be usefull:

Quote:
Linux oriondesa.capgemini.es 2.6.9-67.ELsmp #1 SMP Wed Nov 7 13:58:04 EST 2007 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux

Oracle HTTP Server Powered by Apache/1.3.19

java version 1.4.2_04

Forms 6.0 (Forms Runtime) Version 6.0.8.27.0 (Production)

I followed all the instructions from this URL:
http://www.oracle.com/technology/products/forms/htdocs/Forms_WebService_How_To.htm

(Nevertheless the document has been written for Forms 9i, it would work the same for Forms 6i)