Home » SQL & PL/SQL » SQL & PL/SQL » Trigger sequence problem
Trigger sequence problem [message #39151] Thu, 20 June 2002 22:17 Go to next message
Lucas Kan
Hi,
I'm a newbie in PL/SQL and I have a problem with triggers. I hope someone is able to point me in the right direction.

Overview:
There is a record table and a backup table. One user may have multiple entries in the same table identified by a ID number. Whenever there is a change in the record table, be it insert/delete/update, the backup table will delete all records related to the user, and insert the new set of records all over again obtained from the updated record table.

Action taken:
3 triggers are at work here.
Trigger 1 is a row-level trigger before the action taken. It records the user's ID number via a variable declared in a Package.
Trigger 2 is a table-level trigger before the action taken. It deletes all records in the backup table with the ID number obtained in Trigger 1.
Trigger 3 is a table-level trigger after the action taken. It inserts all records from record table into the backup table with the ID number obtained in Trigger 1.

Problem:
Both trigger 1 and 2 takes place before the action, which I have no control over their firing sequence. They cannot be combined becoz' I need the user ID number from the ':new' variable, which is not available at table-level trigger.

Therefore is there any way for me to store the ID number before Trigger 2 is fired? Or is my whole approach to this problem wrong?

Thanks.
Re: Trigger sequence problem [message #39154 is a reply to message #39151] Fri, 21 June 2002 05:14 Go to previous messageGo to next message
vipin
Hi,

I feel one trigger defined on the record table after insert/update/delete can do an insert into backup table. The trigger (after insert) on backup table can do a delete and Insert. Userid is anyhow passed when you insert into backup table.

Hope there is some light here.

vipin