Home » SQL & PL/SQL » SQL & PL/SQL » Diff Between Schema and user
Diff Between Schema and user [message #356643] Fri, 31 October 2008 13:04 Go to next message
vikram1780

Hi,

What is the difference between schema and user.

what is the sql used to create schema and user?

Can i have multiple users to one schema.

Is user and schema is same if not how it is different?

As I am a newbie. i am trying to create these things.

Thanks in advance
Re: Diff Between Schema and user [message #356649 is a reply to message #356643] Fri, 31 October 2008 13:42 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Littlefoot
Account Moderator
Search the Forum; it's been asked (and answered) quite a few times.
Re: Diff Between Schema and user [message #356745 is a reply to message #356643] Sat, 01 November 2008 23:27 Go to previous messageGo to next message
fairgame
What is the difference between schema and user?

User and Schema are same and refers to collection of Ojects like,
Tables, Procedures, views, DB Links & etc..

what is the sql used to create schema and user?

Create user <Schema/user_name> identified by <password>
Grant create session to <Schema/User_name>

Can i have multiple users to one schema.
Yes.. Give Grants..Grant < privilege > on <object> to <Schema/User>
<Schema.Object>

Is user and schema is same if not how it is different?
Same..
Re: Diff Between Schema and user [message #356750 is a reply to message #356745] Sun, 02 November 2008 01:22 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Michel Cadot
Account Moderator
@fairgame

Reread your post, it contains inconsistencies.

I think you should also search for the other topics on the subject and read Database Concepts.

Regards
Michel

[Updated on: Sun, 02 November 2008 01:22]

Report message to a moderator

Re: Diff Between Schema and user [message #356825 is a reply to message #356750] Sun, 02 November 2008 11:51 Go to previous message
Kevin Meade
To claify for the OP

Quote: