Home » Developer & Programmer » Forms » Help in LOV (Forms 6i)
Help in LOV [message #335611] Tue, 22 July 2008 23:42 Go to next message
rramanb
Hi,

I'm a newbie to Forms. Could anyone help me on this?

I have a LOV that displays the EmpNo and EmpName. I have 2 DataBlocks on my form. My idea is when i select a value on the LOV, it has to be displayed on the Datablock1 (that has 2 items EmpNo and EmpName), and the Datablock2 has the other Employee Details. I have the Relations created between the Datablock1 and the Datablock2 and the LOV is attached to the Datablock1's Items.

When i run the form and select a data on the LOV, i get the Datablock1 displayed with the selected values but the Datablock2 is empty. Do you know how to get the Datablock2 populated?

I could see that the form is working fine if i ignore the LOV selection and do the Enter Query (F7), Type the EmpNo and EmpName values manually on the Runtime and do the Execute Query (F8). It means that the Relation is working fine. But when i select a data from the LOV, the Employee Details Block is not populating any data.

Thanks
Raghu
Re: Help in LOV [message #335650 is a reply to message #335611] Wed, 23 July 2008 02:35 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Littlefoot
Account Moderator
The last part of your message is perfectly OK - a correctly created master-detail relationship will populate both master and detail block.

As of the first part of your message, well, that's Forms default behaviour - you have opened a LoV, selected some value and it ended up in the corresponding form item (which belongs to the first data block). As you are in INSERT mode, Forms waits for you to enter the rest of information - first into the master block, then into its details.

However, perhaps you might want to check use of "Copy Value from Item" and/or "Synchronize with Item" item's properties. (You'd set them for "empno" and "ename" items that belong to data block 2.)