Home » SQL & PL/SQL » SQL & PL/SQL » help required in PLSQL
help required in PLSQL [message #324140] Sat, 31 May 2008 02:13 Go to next message
taqi10
A value in my column is "John Jack Ivor" , suppose that John Jack is the first name and Ivor is the Last Name , now I want to write a query which will return me the last name i.e "Ivor" , my background is totally of Java and C# and not of PLSQL , can any one please tell me that how to write this query which will return me the last name i.e "Ivor" , similarly if the column has the value "John Jack" , in this case John the first name and jack the last name than the query should return "Jack".

Please guide me I would really be thankful.

Regards,
Taqi Raza.
Re: help required in PLSQL [message #324143 is a reply to message #324140] Sat, 31 May 2008 02:24 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Dipali Vithalani

How will oracle identy from the group of words that which word represents the last name from that for you....

Instade, you should have different columns if you have such requirements....

Regards..
Re: help required in PLSQL [message #324146 is a reply to message #324143] Sat, 31 May 2008 02:44 Go to previous messageGo to next message
taqi10
Dear vithalani_dipali,
Thanks a lot for your reply , however we cannot break up the column due to some reasons , for your first question that how will the query identify the last name , now I think that the strategey can be that :

1) First get the "Index number" of last empty space in the string which we got from the column (if this is possible in PLSQL)
2) Secondly we will get the substring from the String , the range of this sub string will be from length of the string till the index number of the last occurence of empty string (if possible in PLSQL).