Home » SQL & PL/SQL » SQL & PL/SQL » PL/SQL Stored Procedures returning ResultSets
PL/SQL Stored Procedures returning ResultSets [message #2613] Wed, 31 July 2002 04:31 Go to next message
maleev
I'm a java programmer, not completely a newbie in the PL/SQL world. My question is how do you define a PL/SQL stored procedure which returns ResultSets. The JDBC call should look like:
CallableStatement cs = conn.prepareCall("{? = call proc(?, ?)}");
cs.registerOutParameter(1, java.sql.Types.CHAR);
cs.registerOutParameter(2, java.sql.Types.CHAR);

cs.setString(2, "A");
cs.setString(3, "B");

cs.execute();

String param1 = cs.getString(2);

ResultSet rs = null;
do {
    /* this is what I'm interested in */
    rs = cs.getResultSet();
} while (cs.hasMoreResults())

Can anyone post an example?
Re: PL/SQL Stored Procedures returning ResultSets [message #2616 is a reply to message #2613] Wed, 31 July 2002 05:09 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Mahesh Rajendran
Account Moderator
you should make use of OUT parameters.
something like this
create or replace procedure test
(P_name IN varchar2,
 p_out  OUT varchar2)
is
begin
p_out:='the name is '||p_name;
end;

p_name is the input to the proceudre.
and
you can get the output from p_out.
Re: PL/SQL Stored Procedures returning ResultSets [message #2618 is a reply to message #2613] Wed, 31 July 2002 05:54 Go to previous messageGo to next message
maleev
What does your example have to do with ResultSets?