Home » SQL & PL/SQL » SQL & PL/SQL » switching between databases on the same computer
switching between databases on the same computer [message #2582] Mon, 29 July 2002 08:04 Go to next message
Trish
Hello,
Please excuse me if this is the wrong mailing list to be asking this question in. I'm a very newbie.
Using Oracle's Database Configuration Assistant it is possible to create numerous databases on a single computer. If there is more than one database created on the same computer, when you use SQL *Plus to connect to a database there seems to be no way of choosing which database you would like to connect to. By default you are automatically connected to the most recently created database. Typeing something like :
sqlplus scott@first_database/tiger
doesn't work because you are trying to connect to another database on the same computer that you are already on, not a remote database.

Can anybody help please ?
Thanks,
Trish.
Re: switching between databases on the same computer [message #2583 is a reply to message #2582] Mon, 29 July 2002 08:57 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Silpa
connect as

sqlplus username/password@service_name

Service_Name is the name given in TNSNAMES.ora for the connecting database.

Alternate method is

export ORACLE_SID to which ever database you want to connect

and connect as
sqlplus username/password
Re: switching between databases on the same computer [message #2594 is a reply to message #2583] Tue, 30 July 2002 06:08 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Trish
Thank you to those people who replied to my query. I tried :
scott/tiger@HumRes
(HumRes is the database I want to connect to )
I got:
ERROR:
ORA-12154: TNS:could not resolve service name

Here is a section from my tnsnames.ora file:
# TNSNAMES.ORA Network Configuration File: C:oracleora90networkadmintnsnames.ora
# Generated by Oracle configuration tools.

HUMRES =
(DESCRIPTION =
(ADDRESS_LIST =
(ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(HOST = ucd-opmwaj2f8gy)(PORT = 1521))
)