Home » SQL & PL/SQL » SQL & PL/SQL » regarding pragma_exception_init (Oracle 9i Release 2, Windows XP)
regarding pragma_exception_init [message #314120] Tue, 15 April 2008 16:12 Go to next message
vamsikgummadi
Hi Friends,
First let me thank you for your suggestions and help you all have offered in solving my previous problems.
Now coming to the point. I am currently working out on EXCEPTIONS. Though I have dealt with all these topics earlier due to a long break as a PL/SQL developer I am unable to recollect some parts.

As per my study: PRAGMA_EXCEPTION_INIT turns a Oracle Error into a named exception. Even in http://download-uk.oracle.com/docs/cd/B19306_01/appdev.102/b14251/adfns_packages.htm#sthref925http://download-uk.oracle.com/docs/cd/B 19306_01/appdev.102/b14251/adfns_packages.htm#sthref925 I have noted as follows:
Quote:
WHEN clause requires an exception name. If the exception that is raised does not have a name, such as those generated with RAISE_APPLICATION_ERROR, then one can be assigned using PRAGMA_EXCEPTION_INIT, as shown in the following example:

DECLARE
    Null_salary EXCEPTION;
    PRAGMA EXCEPTION_INIT(Null_salary, -20101);
BEGIN
    RAISE_APPLICATION_ERROR(-20101, 'salary is missing');
EXCEPTION
    WHEN Null_salary THEN

Now I have a procedure
create or replace procedure vam_del_dept_sp
  (v_deptid IN dept.deptno%type)
  is
  begin
  delete from dept where deptno=v_deptid;
  end;

The procedure executes successfully.
Now I am trying to use the procedure as follows:
begin
vam_del_dept_sp(10);
end;
/

And the output is
ERROR at line 1:
ORA-02292: integrity constraint (SCOTT.FK_DEPTNO) violated - child record found
ORA-06512: at "SCOTT.VAM_DEL_DEPT_SP", line 5
ORA-06512: at line 2

Because it's a known fact Dept table is related to Emp table and 'Deptno' column in Dept has child records in EMP table.

Now I request you how can I handle this
Quote:
ORA-02292: integrity constraint (SCOTT.FK_DEPTNO) violated - child record found