Home » RDBMS Server » Server Administration » URGENT!! Problem in Connecting to DBA Studio
URGENT!! Problem in Connecting to DBA Studio [message #140685] Wed, 05 October 2005 03:56 Go to next message
Sheila
Hello,

I have problem connection to oracle 8i server.
When I test service name or try to connect to DBA studio, I get the following error message:

ORA-01033: ORACLE initialiaztion or shutdown in progress

I've been using this server for 4 years but after a problem with my Server PC, I face this problem on my oracle server
Any idea would be appreciated.
Re: URGENT!! Problem in Connecting to DBA Studio [message #140706 is a reply to message #140685] Wed, 05 October 2005 05:18 Go to previous messageGo to next message
sunil_v_mishra
hi,

I hope you have backup of your database... as you are working with this database for last 4 year i also think the data present in database is very important to you but if you can reboot the machine on which your database is present (i.e server) your problem can be solved .... Frankly speaking your database is shutting down but it is not properly shutdown and as u are not able to work with this database better restart your pc on which your database is present....then check r u getting same error or not.

regards
Always friend sunilkumar
Re: URGENT!! Problem in Connecting to DBA Studio [message #140719 is a reply to message #140706] Wed, 05 October 2005 06:20 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Sheila
Thanks for immediate response
However, I have restarted the PC many times but I get the same error, besides I have restarted oracle services as well but the problem still exists.
Unfortunately, the backup is corrupted and as you have guessed the data is very important and actuall vital. Is there any way to restore 'Oradata' folder in a new installed oracle server? I mean is that possible to copy database during installation from the previous data?